SWAY is an oral language and early literacy program based on local Aboriginal language and stories within the early learning environment.

There are 6 Units of Learning.

  • Me and my body
  • My family, my home
  • My school, my community
  • My culture, my history
  • My Land, my Australia
  • Our journey

The content within these units has been planned within the context of the Early Years Learning Framework. SWAY engages children in developmentally appropriate play-based experiences that encourage creative thinking, problem solving, decision making and communication between teacher and child.

One of the main goals of SWAY is to build capacity of teaching staff through training and ongoing mentoring.

Speech Pathologists work together with teachers to plan and implement a range of evidence based oral language strategies in the following key learning areas: